Okay – I’m going to start with a confession:

As a snack food – I freakin hate celery. When exam time rolls around, I KNOW my eating habits get nasty. What I used to do was stock up my fridge with veggies and make sure I had a ton of them available to munch on so I wouldn’t stress-eat chips or cookies. If I ever bought a veggie tray – celery was the last thing to go. Even after the cauliflower (raw cauliflower just grinds my tongue the wrong way. Roast that sucker and then we’re talking!)

I have friends who love raw celery and I just don’t get it! It tastes like… well nothing. Sure I’ll use it in stews and salads but I just can’t stand the stuff raw. It’s the one veggie that will go all brown and mushy in my fridge repeatedly (I’m working on it!)

So I was really excited when I discovered a way to enjoy celery raw and not coated with some kind of dip… Ladies and gents, I give you:

The celery boat!

How cute are these?

I was also really excited because I don’t think I’ve seen these anywhere on the internet… I mean sure you’ve heard of ants on a log and cheese whiz on celery (ewww cheese whiz) but I’ve never seen tuna salad on celery! Correct me if I’m wrong people but I felt really proud when I made these bad boys.

Anyway, the tuna salad is the real star of the show here – I just like the delivery. I’ve always been a fan of any kind of food that makes the physical process of eating fun. You can only have lettuce wraps so many times!

I bet these would make great appetizers for a picnic or a brunch if you cut the celery into bite size pieces.

On to the salad! I think I’ve only mentioned 100 times how much I adore avocado. Tuna + avocado? Even better.

Ingredients:

  • 1 can tuna
  • 1-2 T paleo mayo
  • 2 T red onion, diced fine
  • 1/2 an avocado, cut into 1/2” cubes
  • 5 – 6 cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 1/2 t (or more!) garlic
  • 1 t dill
  • 1/2 t lemon juice
  • 5-6 celery sticks
  1. I would strongly advise you to pay attention to the celery you buy. I’ve had those gigantor sticks before and they would work best for this method. However, as you can see in the pictures the small ones will do – it’s just trickier getting them to hold the salad.
  2. Mix the tuna with the mayo, garlic, dill, lemon juice and onion.
  3. Add avocado, onion and stir (not too much! You want the avocado to remain in tact! Or maybe you don’t. Up to you!
  4. Spoon into your celery sticks OR you can use these in lettuce wraps, or as a salad topper with spinach… the possibilities are endless!

 

 

