Is it Wednesday yet!?

We are eagerly awaiting our first veggie box in the hall of the Protein Queen. I’m trying not to buy too many groceries before it arrives as we’re going to have a TON of greens to deal with but I’ve had to send D out to get a few things here and there just so we can get our greens in us till then. I have tons of protein (of course!) in little tupperware containers so at least that’s one less thing we have to buy.

Today I decided I wanted some kind of Asian stir fry and WHOA NELLY am I glad I decided to mess around in the kitchen! I guess I wouldn’t really call it a fry so much as a saute as I didn’t fry the veggies in hot oil… Anyway I wanted some kind of nutty base and I’m sick of my almond butter sauce (don’t worry – I wont be for long and ya’ll will get a peek at it. It really is wonderful!) so I tried a nice sunflower seed butter. A word of caution: if you’ve never used sunflower seed butter it looks kind of… gross in the jar. It’s this odd greeny – gray color. But man does it pack a flavorful punch! I basically added all the things I would add to a peanut sauce (except soy sauce and fish sauce :'( It is literally¬†impossible¬†to find a fish sauce with no sugar! If anyone knows of one hit me up please!) and the end result was so good – I just wished I could have added some chopped peanuts for crunch. (Sub cashews and you’re golden!) I don’t mean to take away from the dish though – it really was quite tasty! I was cooking it while D was working out and he was going¬†nuts. Was a bit cruel of me I suppose, I mean look at how yummy it looks!

I wish you could smell it. Heavenly!

I added some ground beef in as an after thought (literally just browned it in the pan with some garlic and onions) but these veggies are aaaamaazing all on their own. Or with some rice for all you non whole30-ers! Or pasta! Or in a wrap! In a house! With a mouse!

Ingredients:

  • 2T + 1T lime juice
  • 3cloves + 1 clove garlic
  • 3/4 t crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1/2T + 1/2T ginger paste
  • 1/2t vinegar
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seed butter
  • 1/4 cup full fat coconut milk
  • 1/2t cumin powder
  • 1t red curry paste
  • 1 onion – diced
  • 1 green pepper
  • 1 red pepper
  • 1 cup beans
  • 1/2 cup cherry tomatoes
  • 1-2T coconut oil
  • pinch of cayenne
  • handful of cashews
  1. To mix up the sauce, heat up the sun flower seed butter gently in the microwave (30 – 40s) so that it’s easier to work with. Mine came straight from the fridge so it was really thick. Add 2T lime juice, 1 clove minced garlic, red pepper flakes, 1/2T ginger paste, vinegar, coconut milk, and cumin powder. Mix it up till you have a nice creamy sauce. Set aside for now.
  2. Heat up your oil in a large wok (or whatever pot you have. I seem to have misplaced my wok so I just ended up using a large pot – no biggie!) then add onions and garlic (3 cloves minced). Cook the onions till they soften and brown a bit – the garlic should be smelling pretty good by now. Add the rest of the ginger and let it cook some more (3-5 minutes at medium high heat).
  3. Now add the curry paste and lime juice. Stir well – your onions should turn a nice red and your boyfriend who is working out will start yelling at you that it’s not fair how good the food smells.
  4. Mix in the sauce, and the rest of the ingredients. Cook on medium – high for a few minutes, then cover and reduce heat. Check every couple minutes that the sauce isn’t burning.

* I tagged this recipe as vegan because without the beef the sauce and veggies totally are – and seriously they are good enough to eat on their own. I just threw some beef in there cause I want to finish the stuff in our fridge before cooking up the meat from the farmer’s market. Also, feel free to add other veggies like snap peas, baby corn, broccoli, carrots (would probably really go nicely in this dish!)

