I am exhausted. Just wiped.

I know I’ve only mentioned a 100 times that Weds was veggie box day (yay!) and while I realized that this meant I would be washing, cutting, cooking, cleaning all day – I forgot that I would be washing, cutting, cooking, cleaning all day. I slept in and didn’t get to go to the gym first thing (mistake) so after class this was my day: workout – shower – eat – co0k for 3 hours – break for food – cook for 3 more hours – break for food – lie down and never want to get up – MIDNIGHT CLEANING DANCE PARTY.

My boyfriend came shopping with me (mistake. He’s always rushing me and being generally uncomfortable) and it was kind of funny to have him realize how many foods have sugar or grains snuck into them in some form or the other. Sundried tomatoes took me 3 stores to find. Olives? 3. Coconut Aminos … I’ve been looking all freaking week. Chicken broth? Effing impossible. WHY DOES CHICKEN BROTH NEED SUGAR I ASK YOU? )*#$&^ So now I have to make my own. Great. Not that I reaaaaally mind but it also means that I have to roast a chicken and I need that broth right meeoooooow. I’m not sure how much I’ll be able to keep up with the blogging in the busiest semester of my life… but I’ll certainly do my best. First day of class and I’m already stressed to the eyeballs. Such is life – it goes on. Anyway back to the food.

I have SO much to photograph! I just didn’t even bother today because I knew there would be no point with all the other stuff I had to do. I had ribs in the crock pot, a roast in the oven, something or the other on the stove, some kind of salad being mixed … no time for photos! Which kind of sucks cause we’re out of town Thurs – Sun so there goes any blogging time.

Back to the food – I keep blabbering. We knew what was going to be in our box – the company releases a schedule before the week and once I saw cabbage on the list I just knew I would have to make a coleslaw. I’m really not a huge fan of cabbage – it’s kind of like lettuce. It serves it’s purpose but… you know. Meh. I did however love that sickeningly sweet slop that they would dump in little styrofoam cups in an attempt to fulfill the “veggies” part of your meal at KFC as a kid. Like just LOVED that stuff. So I thought I could try and recreate something a little bit more … well … real. I do wish I took a picture of the rainbow carrots we got before I used them all – purple, white and orange! Gorgeous.

You can’t really see it in the pictures but there are purple carrots in there! Purple! And they were deeeelicious.

I also added some cranberries and walnuts to add a bit of sweet/crunchy texture. FANTASTIC IDEA!

I seriously ate 3 bowls yesterday. Three. D liked the coleslaw too which was nice cause he rarely gets excited about food.

Ingredients:

  • 1 head cabbage – shredded. Use your food processor and save yourself the cabbage in the hair
  • 2-3 large carrots – shredded
  • 1 cup paleo mayo
  • 1 T dry mustard
  • 1 1/2 T apple cider vinegar
  • 2 T lemon juice
  • 2 T diced onions
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened dried cranberries
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnut peices
  1. In a large (VERY LARGE) bowl mix the mayo, mustard, vinegar, lemon juice, onions and salt and pepper.
  2. Add cabbage and carrots and stir
  3. Finish with cranberries and walnut peices.

This slaw is a great side dish (especially for picky eaters who might not drool at the idea of cabbage :P) or nice on it’s own. I imagine myself with a life going to a picnic and bringing this … sigh.

