So I tried out one of the recipes from this book.

Which, I might add, is a fantastic resource if you aren’t familiar with nutrition, healthy eating, or the hormonal processes that make us fat. Check it out if you get the chance!

They even have a helpful section in the back with lots of whole30 recipe ideas! I had picked up some nice wild salmon fillets a couple days ago so I thought I’d give their hazelnut salmon a try after I made some tweaks to it…

 

Mmm cauliflower mash! I don’t know why but I’ve always associated baked salmon with a nice helping of mashed potatoes.

 

Maybe it’s because I always ate the two together growing up. Also: I’ve never really been one for asparagus but I am loving it lately roasted with some olive oil! Fun fact: Did you know that the ability to smell asparagus in your pee is hereditary?   I, apparently, am not blessed with that particular gene :P

Another fun fact about me: I love to smush all my food into one unphotogenic pile. Seriously, I cut up my meat and mix everything together into a really gross looking mess. I’m not sure why but it tastes better! What kind of weird food habits do you have?

Ingredients:

  • 2 5oz Wild Salmon fillets
  • 2-3 T chopped hazelnuts (I measured after they had been chopped)
  • 1/4 cup clarified butter (mine is liquid at room temp. If yours isn’t – melt it!)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2t fresh thyme leaves
  • S&P to taste
  1. Toast the hazelnuts over medium-high heat for about 3-4 minutes until they’re nice and golden. Set aside.
  2. Add butter, garlic, thyme, S&P to a bowl and mix.
  3. Put your fillets in a ziplock bag and dump in the butter mixture. Set them aside in the fridge for 2-3 hours (or longer!).
  4. Preheat oven to 400F
  5. Place the salmon in the center of a baking sheet covered with parchment paper.
  6. Top with hazelnuts and a pat of butter.
  7. Bake for 8-10 minutes – the salmon should just barely begin to flake.

For the asparagus all you have to do is toss with some fat of choice, garlic, pepper and roast at 415 for about 15-25 minutes depending on how done you want them. Voila!

