Add this to my list of foods I shouldn’t make in bulk because I eat them all in one go…

These celery root souffle’s are just so fantastic. There’s a lot of root veggie purees out there to replace the lovely potato in our carb loaded lives, and I’m not really that much of a fan. Well okay – I love my cauliflower mash but I think veggies like parsnips and celery root are just not quite right as a potato replacement. They have a completely different flavor to them that you’re just not capitalizing on if you you try and make them imitate a mashed potato! But these little souffles… oh my goodness.

They have a slight eggy taste to them but I really like this. If you won’t – probably best to skip these guys :) As you can see, I tried to make a bunch of mini souffles. I think it would work best if you split up the recipe into two or three ramekins and did it that way. Mine didn’t quite rise as much as I’d hoped but they were still delicious! They were almost like little biscuits. Look at those darling little peaks!

I served them with a roast I made and the flavors work wonderfully with red meat. By the way – aren’t roasts just the best things for a lazy cook? Rub em down, throw em in the oven and bam. Food for a few days.

Let’s talk soup. The nice thing about eating paleo is that as far as missing cream – you have coconut milk. I have no reason to ever miss dairy again thanks to thick, rich, creamy, sweet coconut milk.

There’s something so idyllic about having fall apples and squashes littering your kitchen counter. It makes me feel like a kitchen from a magazine! Mostly, I’m excited because roasted squash soups make this protein queen a very happy lady :)

 

Celery Root Souffle – Ingredients:

  • 1 large celery root
  • 2 T ghee – I have this fantastic butter flavored, artificial flavor and dairy free EVOO. I used that :D But Ghee will work just as well
  • 2 eggs, whites and yolks separated
  • 3 egg whites
  • 1T Dijon mustard
  • S&P to taste
  1. Preheat oven to 375F
  2. Peel and cut up the root into 1” cubes. Throw the cubes in a pot with a little water and steam until it’s nice and soft.
  3. Once that’s done, puree it in a food processor. Add in the ghee, mustard, egg yolks and salt slowly.
  4. Transfer the puree into a separate bowl. Next, I threw my egg whites in the processor and whipped the bejeezus out of them. I do this cause I’m too lazy to whip them to stiff peaks by hand :)
  5. Fold those stiff suckers into the celery root – gently.
  6. Spoon into ramekins (or muffin tray just make sure you grease the pan) and bake for 40 minutes.

Curried Acorn Soup – Ingredients:

  • 2lb Acorn Squash (can easily swap with any other fall squash)
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 2 small cloves garlic, minced
  • 1.5 cups chicken/veggie stock
  • 1 can coconut milk – full fat! None of that foo foo diet crap
  • 2t curry powder
  • 1/2t ground ginger
  • 1/4t cayenne pepper
  • 2T cooking fat of choice
  1. Preheat oven to 400F. Cut the squash in half and scoop out any seeds and other mess. (Totally save the seeds for roasting later!)
  2. Drizzle the inside with olive oil and roast – cut side down – for about 30 – 40 minutes. The flesh should be soft to poke (with a fork! not your finger :P) and be shriveling away from the skin.
  3. When it’s all done and cool, peel the skin away and discard (the skin, that is!)
  4. Set the squash aside and in a large pot, heat the cooking fat. Add onions, garlic and ginger. Let them cook for a few minutes till fragrant. Keep frying the onions till they’re nice and brown.
  5. Add curry powder & cayenne and let cook for another 30 seconds. Then add vegetable stock, coconut milk, and squash. Bring to a boil and then let it simmer for 30 minutes covered.
  6. Using an immersion blender (or you may transfer in batches to a food processor or blender) puree the soup. By now your kitchen should be smelling all kinds of heavenly :)
  7. Drizzle with coconut milk for garnish and serve!
