Okay for real, ya’ll need to make this. I have been sooo excited to post this recipe over the last 24 hours! It has all the elements of a perfect meal: quick, cheap, easy and so incredibly delicious. I’m on day 21 of my Whole 30 and I have to make an update: I love this program. So very much. You know, when I first started I thought I ate clean and I didn’t need to follow the “no paleofying your favorite meals and desserts” rule. I ate fruit after dinner as a dessert and no wonder I crashed. Now that I’m following it 100% – I cannot recommend this program to everyone enough. I’m sleeping amazing, recovering from the gym faster, lifting heavier, my skin and hair look great and best of all – I have never had such a healthy relationship with food! I’m not hungry 2 hours after I eat, I haven’t had a sugar craving in … I don’t even know how long! And best of all? I get to eat stuff like this:

Doesn’t get any better than this. Brisket is made up of a lot of connective tissue and is normally a tough cut of meat. So it tends to be cheaper… However, if you slow cook it and let the collagen gelatinize it comes out nice and tender. And juicy.

Perfect for the crock pot/slow cooker! I’ve mentioned before that we buy all our beef organic, hormone free and 100% grass-fed. This hunk of meat was around 2lbs and cost us around $15. I’ve eaten about 3 palm sized servings so far, D has had 2 and there looks to be around 3 or 4 more left. Compare that with eating at subway every day…

OH AND SUBWAY ISN’T AMAZEBALLS LIKE THIS BRISKET IS:

Just hanging out with some coleslaw and salad. It took me about 5 minutes to prepare too. Here it is hanging out in the crock pot

Oh what’s that it’s simmering in? Only the most amazing aus jus I’ve ever had. EVER. It is a very happy week in the protein queen’s home. I just had one of those awesome weekends where everything I experimented with turned out great and now I’m torn between eating tasty meal A, B or C. Such is life… By the way, D who is not on a whole 30 program slapped some of this beef in between a bun with coleslaw and dunked it in the aus jus. I haven’t missed breads or any non whole 30 foods until I saw that… My heart broke. So for those of you not doing the program might I suggest just that? Those of you on it – try lettuce wraps. Just as good! Or serve it atop some coleslaw… try dunking some celery root souffle in it? mix it with cauliflower mash and I guarantee you will want more!

Ingredients:

  • 2lbs grass fed beef brisket
  • 1/4 cup coffee grounds
  • 2T sugar free cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2T cumin powder
  • 1T sea salt
  • 1-2T coconut oil
  • 1 can full fat coconut milk
  1. Mix the coffee grounds, cocoa powder, cumin powder and salt in a bowl.
  2. Rub the brisket down with coconut oil – massage that sucker!
  3. Dunk that oily hunk of deliciousness in the rub and make sure you get every nook and cranny.
  4. Pour your can of coconut milk into the crock pot and gently lay the brisket down in it’s coconutty slumber.
  5. Set at low for 8-10 hours. Shred and thank me later ;)

