Regular followers (if, after my month long hiatus there are any left!) of the blog know that I am an Intermittent Faster. I have tweaked the program a little bit however to do fewer carb refeed days in my week because quite frankly, I love my fats. I hate having to keep them low on refeed days but I know it’s a ┬ánecessary evil! I mean – meat is just not meant to be eaten without fat, it tastes awful! (Tell that to the 300g of plain white turkey breast I ate today. Just ugh!) So here I am racking my brain trying to figure out a nice, low fat/high carb post work out meal for my carb refeed day when I remembered that in the whole30 book there’s this recipe for salmon & sweet potato cakes… While salmon doesn’t really work (lots of yummy fats) I figured tuna would!009

These cakes are awesome. They’re really quick, super easy to make and delicccious! I changed the recipe a bit and made them spicier. I was very happy with the result! And you can totally use these on a regular paleo day, fry them, bake them, whatever you like!

011

 

I was worried they would be a bit lacking in the taste department because I baked them (didn’t want to up my fats for today) but they were totally awesome baked. What’s more, the sweet potato adds an awesome consistency and savory sweetness to the whole thing.

012

 

I have a feeling these are going to become regulars around this house!

010

 

While you can easily whip up some kind of mayo based dipping sauce for these – they’re totally awesome on their own!

Ingredients:

  • 1 can polecaught, wild, skipjack tuna (about 115g)
  • 100g cooked sweet potato (or from the can works)
  • 1 egg
  • 2T minced fresh parsley
  • 1T (about 12g) almond flour
  • 3/4t dried dill
  • 1t hot sauce
  • 1/2t paprika (although I had success with more!)
  • 1/2t red curry paste
  • 1/2t salt
  • 1/2t pepper
  • 1/2t garlic powder
  1. Literally all you have to do is throw everything in a bowl and mix! Use your hands – it’s more fun and the food tastes better :P
  2. Preheat oven to 350F
  3. Form patties about 2” in diameter and 1” thick. I made 7 with this recipe.
  4. Line baking sheet with parchment paper and bake for 20 minutes. Take them out, flip em over and bake for 10 more minutes.
  5. Enjoy!

*If you want to reduce the fat in this recipe, use egg whites instead of egg yolk.

Nutritional info (for the entire recipe as I expect you to gobble this bad boy down whole :) ):

  • Calories:334
  • Carbs: 20.65g
  • Fat:12.06g
  • Protein:35.52g
