Whenever we buy a big bag of cherries (see: whenever they’re at the grocery store) I get foodie anxiety. Seriously there’s so much you can do with cherries that I find myself overwhelmed with options. I get like that with bananas too. Actually I hoard bananas. Why? You ask? Well… partly because I’m a banana hoarder lady but also because it takes them forever to ripen! I buy about 10 – 15 bananas at a time when they are unripe and wait for them to reach the perfect level of ripeness. Of course this must be done while I already have a rotation of already ripe bananas available to use whenever I need them… I hope some of you out there have other crazy foodie habits like I do. Anyways… cherries. Where were we?

 

Ah. Yes. There. Cherries.

 

How could you say no to this bowl?

Luscious, sweet cherries… Creamy Almond Butter, Rich Dark Chocolate all meet in a trifecta of oatmeal goodness. I wish you could smell this bowl, my entire kitchen smelled like a cherry blanket.

I used some almond extract the second (and third and fourth… and fifth. Days in a row that is!) time I made this oatmeal and I would strongly recommend you get your hot little hands on some because it really adds that rich flavor to the oatmeal.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup cherries, pitted
  • 1/3 cup quick cooking oats
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened chocolate almond milk
  • 1/3 cup water (or if you want something really rich and need to add to your healthy fat intake for the day, full fat coconut milk. Heavenly!)
  • 1 scoop Chocolate Peanut Butter MyoFusion (or protein of choice.)
  • 1 Tbsp pure maple syrup. None of that high fructose aunt jemima crap
  • 2 Tbsp unsweetened dark cocoa powder (or you can melt 80% cocoa chocolate bars in your oatmeal)
  • 1-2 Tbsp almond butter (go with two. you won’t regret it!)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp almond extract
  1. Soak your cherries overnight (or at least for a couple hours) in the maple syrup and almond extract. If you want a really naughty breakfast, might I suggest 1/2 a shot of Grand Marnier? I usually eat my oatmeal around 6 or 7 and am a University student so this is a viable option for me :P)
  2. Mix in oatmeal, water (or coconut milk. Seriously try it at least once it’s amazing), almond milk, cocoa powder, protein powder and vanilla extract.
  3. Cook for 2-3 minutes and let it sit for another couple minutes.
  4. Drizzle with almond butter and if you’re using the chocolate bar option, add that sucker in as soon as the oatmeal is done cooking and let it melt.
  5. Flavorgasm.

I really wouldn’t skip out on the nut butter in this oatmeal and just go for the full 2 Tbsp. If you can get your hands on PB2 it’s really worth it for those of you who are watching calories. But really… splurge every now and then! This sucker will keep you full for hours and it’s so rich you feel like you’re eating dessert! Since this one is so rich, you probably could do without the protein powder but it’s realllllly tasty with it. Plus, the protein fluffs up the bowl to twice it’s size so it’s really filling unlike a protein shake. You really have to watch it as it cooks though, the protein boils over really quickly. Try cooking it a minute at a time and letting it sit in between because I’ve had it boil over on me quite a few times… You think I’d learn! Yeesh!

