Oatmeal o’clock is a sacred hour in my house. That’s right, oatmeal o’clock. I have affectionately named the time that I get to eat my favorite food in the world. My favorite food that is easily disguised to taste like many of my other favorite foods.

Other favorite foods such as… apple pie. I’m all about the textures and smells. I love the warm, sticky filling in apple pie. I don’t, however, love the crazy amounts of refined sugars and whatever else might be lurking about in there. But it’s so hard to resist that smell! If you’ve ever been to a mall with a cinnamon bun stand, you know the spicy smell of those buns is enough to make your mouth water the second you’re within sniffing radius.  The only solution was to combine them both together in a healthy, filling breakfast.  Don’t mind if I do.

Did I mention delicious breakfast? Cause that’s probably the most important thing.

I was really reluctant to try this recipe because every cinnamon apple oatmeal I tried (that was “healthy”) from various food blogs tasted like crap. Seriously, I’ve tried about 3 or 4 and seeing as I refuse to use refined sugars, I was stuck eating a crappy bowl of oatmeal. Which makes me very grumpy.

However this one, I can proudly say is nothing short of wonderful.

It tastes like waking up in a bed and breakfast.

You know when you leave your window open even though it’s chilly out? And you wrap yourself in your duvet but let your feet dangle out in the cold? Nothing makes me happier than that feeling. And I sum it up in this bowl of oatmeal.

Melty Apples… Crunchy Pecans… Heavenly.

Ingredients:

  • 1 apple – peeled, cored, diced.
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/3 cup quick cooking oats
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 scoop MyoFusion Cinnamon Roll Protein Powder – this is crucial. I have no idea if this recipe will taste good without the protein so if you can’t find a cinnamon flavored powder, I’d at least use vanilla.
  • 1-2 Tbsp almond butter
  • 1 Tbsp raisins (not pictured here because I ran out the day I photographed this one.)
  • 1 Tbsp walnuts/pecans
  1. Heat up the apple in the microwave for a minute. You want it to be quite soft.
  2. Add applesauce, oats, water, cinnamon, vanilla extract and protein powder and mix well.
  3. Cook for 2-3 minutes. As with all my oatmeal recipes, cook time depends on your microwave. The protein does boil over quite easily so I’d do it a minute at a time and really keep an eye on the thing!
  4. Let it cool and add the raisins, walnuts, almond butter and whatever other toppings your little heart desires.

This oatmeal demands that you eat it in bed on a chilly morning! With a good book. And maybe some warm cider. Hell just call in sick tomorrow and make it. You’ll thank me later 😉

