I’ve mentioned before that I love finger foods. My initial idea was that I would create a healthy pizza that you could cut up into pizza like slices and eat like a normal pizza… As usual I got carried away with toppings. So this is a fork and knifer.

But really who is complaining?


Not this girl. I always felt that half the fun of eating your food was wearing it ūüėČ

Using your hands just gets you more involved with your food, you feel the textures that you’re about to taste!

Speaking of texture, I baked these and used hummus as a base so the bread really crisps up and makes them super crunchy.

Ingredients:

  • 4-5 whole wheat pitas – depends on how loaded you want your Pitzas
  • Roughly 600g of extra lean ground chicken. You can easily sub turkey here as well.
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/2 large onion, chopped fine
  • 1 Tbsp garlic paste¬†(or less if you like but I love garlic so I used even more)
  • 1/2 cup sliced mushrooms of choice (crimini tasted fine with me)
  • 1 tbsp oregano
  • 1 1/2 tsp dried parsley flakes
  • 1 1/2¬†tbsp lemon juice
  • 1-2 Tbsp hummus
  • 2-3¬†Tbsp tzaziki (+ more for whatever you spread on your pita)
  • 1 slice¬†mozzarella flavored vegan cheese (I really just like it for its nutritional properties. Don’t remind me that there is meat on this pitza. You can opt for regular mozza or crumbled feta if you like)
  • Toppings – I used: grape tomatoes, diced cucumbers, spinach, green and red peppers and because I ran out of spinach – baby kale. You can easily tailor these to your own taste (ex. olives, red onions, goat cheese, lettuce)
  1. Preheat oven to 400F.
  2. Cook up your onion in the coconut oil. Never use olive oil for frying! It should only ever be used for raw dishes or low heat. Let the onion soften up for about 4-5 minutes on medium heat.
  3. Add garlic a pinch of oregano, fry it up until it’s fragrant.
  4. Add the ground chicken/turkey and add lemon juice, parsley, and rest of oregano. Cook until chicken is brown. Mix in tzatziki.
  5. Set up your pitzas! I like to spread hummus on first, then tzatziki, then layer a bed of spinach (or in this case, baby kale). Next I added about 1/2 cup of the ground chicken mixture and topped it with a slice of cheese. Then I added the peppers, halved grape tomatoes, more mushrooms and drizzled with olive oil. I wanted the cucumbers to be fresh and crunchy so I added those after the oven.
  6. Bake for 10 minutes.
  7. Enjoy! These are really messy fun to eat. I like to drizzle them with more tzatziki!

P.S. If you have left overs and don’t want to make a pizza, mix em up with more tzatziki and throw em in a spinach salad! Also very tasty!

Nutritional Info:

When you add the Pita bread really it’s more like 22g of protein plus whatever toppings you might use. (I know my vegan cheese slices and hummus add on another 5-6 grams of protein. ) Not too shabby!

OPA!

