Healthy Pizza?

Shut the front door. There’s no way that can possibly taste good right?

Right?

These are seriously AMAZING. I’ve seen the recipe for these floating around on the internet for some time and been meaning to try them… I can’t believe I never gave em a crack earlier! Simply wonderful.

What’s great about these is that they’re low carb, fairly low calorie, and you can top them with whatever you like!
Obviously I had to throw some chicken on mine for protein but these can totally be vegetarian. But how does it compare to real pizza? Honestly – I don’t think I’d be able to tell the difference. You can tell that there is something different about these but you’re not quite sure what. I was really pleased with the end result. Plus, it’s a great way to sneak in some veggies into your diet! Although cauliflower is best eaten raw if you’re looking to benefit from it’s disease preventing properties. Still – added fiber is always great for keeping bellies full! And you’ll want to eat more than just one of these 😉

After all, they’re fun sized! Which means it’s fun to eat them all 😀

You can also make this one giant pizza crust – I just chose to make mini pizzas for work.

Ingredients:

  • 1 whole raw cauliflower head – mine was 400g and came out to about 4 cups of cauliflower when riced
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1-2 cups Part Skim Mozzarella depending on the size of your cauliflower (I used 2 to make it extra cheesy)
  • 1 tbsp oregano
  • 1 tbsp garlic paste
  • Pizza Sauce (I used pasta sauce – meh)
  1.  After washing and cleaning your cauliflower, carefully process it to a rice like consistency. You don’t want to go overboard or you’ll puree it.
  2. Mix it up with the beaten eggs and the cheese – it’s going to be really gooey but don’t worry it’ll turn out okay.
  3. Add the oregano and garlic paste
  4. You’re basically done! If you’re making mini pizzas, choose the size and form little crusts with your hands onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper
  5. Top with a couple tablespoons of pizza sauce and whatever other toppings  you like. I used chicken, arugula, mushrooms and a tiny sprinkle of cheese.
  6. Bake at 450F for about 15 minutes. I like mine crispy so I left them in for around 20 minutes – do keep an eye on them though.
  7. Enjoy!

Here is the nutritional info (not including the toppings or sauce):

I made six crusts so I just divided the total weight by 6 in case you’re wondering why the slice weight is so arbitrary. I plan on making these again with much nicer toppings – I’m thinking some kind of Thai peanut tuna or even a Greek pizza with feta and olives! Yum.

