We had a giant bag of ripe avocados lying around that I didn’t really know what to do with. And there is nothing I hate more than a good avocado going to waste. If worse comes to worst, I’ll make it into a hair mask. Buy why put it on your hair when you can enjoy the buttery flesh (lol) and have the same shiny hair-commercial results by eating it? I get a lot of comments on how shiny my hair is and I really don’t do much to it except destroy it with styling. But I do eat a lot of fats in my diet, including avocados. So I whipped up a nice sandwich spread with these and I have to say – I LOVE the result. It’s like guacamole and humus had a glorious food baby.

It’s really easy to make – took me about 3 minutes from start to finish. And look at how pretty! I just love bright colors in my food.

I’m also all about tomato and cheese sandwiches lately. I can’t get enough of them together.

Ingredients:

  • 2 medium avocados (Mine came out to about 140g)
  • 1 3/4 cup chickpeas, boiled and rinsed. This is a little more than most cans but I prefer not to use canned beans. BPA people!
  • 1/2 a large lime
  • 2 heaping T garlic paste
  • 1 bunch cilantro
  1. Throw them all together in your food processor and enjoy! That’s it! I added a little bit more lime juice to mine because I really like it to be limey. I probably added more garlic too because I would give Emeril a run for his money… but start with less and work your way up. For the sandwiches, I used vegan cheese, tomato slices and a little cilantro. Chicken also goes very nicely in one of these sandwiches with a dollop of humus! As for the cilantro – this is completely up to you. I know some people think it tastes like soap (?) so feel free to cut it out completely.

Nutritional Info (per 20g)

Protein:1g/Carb:4g/Fat:2g/Calories:31

Bon appetite!

