I love oatmeal in unhealthy proportions. That’s okay though, because oatmeal – provided that it isn’t the prepackaged-refined-sugar-preservative-artificial-flavor ridden crap – is really good for you! It’s a whole grain and chock full of fiber. Fiber helps keep you full, your blood levels stable and … well you know 😉

I love the way it smells when you’re cooking it – like your very own bowl of cake batter ready in minutes. You can dress it up and give it so many different flavors – it’s like having dessert for breakfast! Enough about my love affair with oatmeal… I came up with yet another delicious oatmeal recipe. Breakfast? Dessert? Who cares. Eat it whenever you want a warm oatmeally hug 🙂

The grocery store had organic (! – very rare in my town) peaches the last time I went so I just had to stock up on them. And then realized that I had no time to bake any kind of yummy treats I had originally envisioned when I saw the peaches so… oatmeal it shall be! If you haven’t noticed thus far, all of my oatmeals tend to follow a very basic template. This is because as a shift worker, I really don’t have time for anything too fancy – hence why I always use quick cooking oats. However, the other day I tried an oven baked chocolate banana hazlenut marble oatmeal (recipe to come soon! Just have some tweaking to do 🙂 ) and I was met with great success! So I do solemnly promise for all you old school non-microwaving types that I will be providing you with a nice, slow baking, aromatic oatmeal. I have to say – I used to think my microwave oatmeals made the kitchen smell good… Nothing quite compares with the warm, lazy smell of a banana oatmeal wafting out of your oven. In the meantime:

You’ll just have to try this peach oatmeal instead.

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup quick cooking oats
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1/3 cup apple sauce – I rarely ever recommend juice as it is NOT GOOD FOR YOU but if ever a time you were to splurge, this would be it. 1/3 cup of unsweetened apple juice would go well in this recipe instead of the  usual almond milk.
  • 1 1/2 t lemon juice
  • 1/4 t vanilla
  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 1 T pure maple syrup
  • 1 medium sized peach
  1. Chop up 3/4 of the peach into 1 inch cubes. (I left 1/4 of the peach for topping slices) If you’re in a rush, microwave the cubes with maple syrup and cinnamon. But if you have the time I highly recommend grilling your peaches with cinnamon and then tossing them in the syrup. If you’re somewhere in between – throw em in a skillet! Cooking the peaches properly really intensifies their flavor.
  2. Add oats, water, almond milk, lemon juice, vanilla, and microwave for 3 minutes. Your kitchen should smell heavenly after you’re done!
  3. Feel free to add 1/2 a scoop of vanilla or cinnamon protein powder. I tried the vanilla and I felt it was much too rich for me.
  4. Let it cool and the flavors will intensify. Top with extra peach slices, nuts, banana slices – whatever floats your boat!

I once went to a wedding with a sundae bar. You got to choose your ice cream and toppings and I thought that was such a cute idea! My version of this would totally be an oatmeal bar 😛

What is your dream oatmeal? I have a doozy (yes I said doozy) of an oatmeal recipe lined up for a future post!

