I decided – screw it.

Whole 30 starts today.

I spent 7 hours on a bus yesterday reading the Hartwig’s excellent book, “It Starts With Food” and I have to say, I am impressed. At first it slightly annoyed me how much they had to dumb down the science behind their diet plan but I guess not everyone has a lengthy background in nutrition and I think they did a really good job of explaining the hormonal feedback loops that lead to obesity in layman’s terms. Also completely changed my outlook on grains! Something I never thought would happen! So I started thinking to myself, “Just how successful am I going to be if I push this forward a week so I can go pig out on my favorite foods? That’s definitely the wrong attitude to head into this program with.” The sooner you start, the sooner you get healthy! And I for one would like to have my first decent nights sleep in years. So let’s do it!

I weighed in yesterday at 127 lbs and am 5’6”. For 30 days, no scales, no measuring portions (not meticulously with a scale anyway), no tracking calories and macronutrients NOTHING. I’m okay with this. That’s what I keep telling my anal retentive voice in my head anyway…

I was really excited all throughout my workout and bike ride this morning at the prospect of what I was going to be cooking up. Then again, I’m always thinking of food. So without further ado – here is one of the tastiest, most filling breakfasts I have ever had.

Paleo Beef Burrito

Ingredients

  • 400g lean ground beef (it doesn’t have to be lean if it’s grass fed)
  • 4 eggs (per burrito! whisked)
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 T minced garlic
  • 1 – 2 T coconut oil or clarified butter
  • 1/2 cup mushrooms
  • 1 cup baby kale
  • 1/2 cup cherry tomatoes
  • 1/2 medium avocado
  • 1/2 medium onion
  • handful of chives
  1. Let the oil or clarified butter melt in a large skillet. Add onion and garlic, cook until the onion is nice and soft – about 7 minutes
  2. Add ground beef and cumin. Cook until the beef is no longer pink.
  3. Just before the beef is done, add the kale. It should be nice and wilted by the time the beef is done.
  4. Set aside your beef filling. This is more than enough for 3 people! I just eat a lot of protein so I ate half.
  5. In the same pan, you’ll add your whisked eggs and chives and cook. You want the omelet to be nice and big so you can use it as a burrito wrap later.
  6. Now that your omelet is done – transfer to a plate and construct your burrito! Add avocado, tomatoes, and a nice dollop of some paleo mayo.
  7. How you eat this is entirely your call. I like foods that are messy – I feel more involved! Or you can knife and fork it 🙂

Cinnamon Raisin Sweet Potato Hash – Vegan

I cooked this up before the omelet as it takes a little longer. Definitely worth the wait! My kitchen smelled divine as the hash was finishing up.

Ingredients

  • 2 small sweet potatoes
  • 1 T melted coconut oil
  • 1/2 T cinnamon + more for dusting
  • 1 T unsulphered, unsweetened raisins
  1. Preheat oven to 450F
  2. Lay out your cubed potatoes on a baking tray and drizzle with oil and cinnamon. Toss.
  3. Bake for 25 minutes. Use a spatula and turn them about so they cook evenly. Bake for another 10 minutes
  4. Mix in raisins (bacon would go nicely here too!) and enjoy!

My tummy is extremely pleased 🙂

