We all have those go-to recipes that we know we can turn to in a hurry when we need a snack that won’t disappoint. For me, my mango avocado salsa is on that list. I probably make it too much but never seem to get sick of it. A while back, we received a house warming food basket with a cedar plank for some good ole salmon smoking. Too bad we don’t have a barbeque at the condo… yet… I’m still whining and working on convincing the boyfriend (let’s call him “D”) that it’s a good idea 😛

Anyway, I brought the plank up with me this summer to my parents’ because I knew I’d be abusing that poor grill all summer. My goodness I’ll miss him. The grill. It’s a him. I need a life…

So I knew that I’d want to pair the salmon with my mango salsa… and imagine my sheer disappointment upon realizing that we were out of mangoes. This house is usually overflowing with mangoes – festooning, if you will. I had a minor pout and got over it … and then realized – bananas! I was actually terrified the salsa would taste awful but it turned out quite nice! Different from the mangoes but still, I will be making this bad boy again

.

Ingredients:

  • 1 small – mediumish banana
  • 1 – 1/2 avocado (depending on your taste of course!)
  • 1/2 cup cherry tomatoes, quartered
  • 1 T balsamic vinegar
  • pinch of cayenne pepper
  • tiny splash of orange juice
  1. Chop everything up and toss together! A word of caution, this salsa doesn’t do well in the fridge. The bananas turn brown and the avocado gets all gross… just eat it all right then and there and we’ll all be happier 🙂

Now for the headliner. The salsa was nice but the salmon – even nicer.

How nice?

Pretty nice I’d say! The oranges kept it really moist while it was cooking. It had a great not-too-sweet zip to it. Did I seriously just say zip? Whatever, I’ll roll with it.

I feel silly posting an ingredient/instruction list so I’ll just tell you what I did. I rubbed down the salmon with some coconut butter and balsamic vinegar and let it sit for about 30 minutes while I prepped everything else. I lined the plank with orange slices and squeezed a little juice on the salmon which I placed oh so lovingly atop it’s orangey throne. Now for those of you that are new to smoking salmon, it’s seriously very simple. You want to have soaked the plank for at least 6 hours (ideally overnight) in water (or juice for extra flavor!).  When you’re getting ready to grill, you’ll wanna rub the plank down with some olive oil and spices. Preheat it on the grill for around 5 minutes at a medium temperature (around 350F) and then you’re ready to grill some fish! I like my fish done rare so I grilled it for around 15 minutes. Make sure the grill is closed the entire time! That’s basically it – super easy right? And you get a gorgeous meal like this out of the process:

I drizzled some olive oil over the asparagus and threw em on the grill for a nice side of veggies. Simple, delicious, healthy.

If this is what the rest of my 30 days is going to look like – you’re going to have to convince me not to make it a whole 365.

