I have to start with a confession.

I cheated.

I broke my whole 30 already. I spent a good few hours being extremely upset with my “friends” and then decided, I’m the one to blame. I went back and forth about whether or not I should write about this but I think, I’ll be more likely to hold myself accountable if I post about this month.
Here’s what happened:

I have a friend who is very dear to me, we’ve been close for years and years now. Back in my freshly – turned – 18 – drink – like – a – fish days, we spent a lot of time at the bar. Thing is – I’ve grown out of that phase in my life and she has not. Every time we see each other she tries to force me to drink and I think she literally doesn’t understand that I do not enjoy that lifestyle. I actually hate being drunk. I don’t mind a glass of red wine every now and then but I drink for taste – not to puke in a bathroom. I’ve been getting a lot of crap from her this summer about “not being any fun” and I guess I let her guilt me into drinking last night. Thing is – that’s not what I feel guilty about. I figured if I did it just this once, she’d leave me alone and I could go back to my clean eating lifestyle and restart my whole 30…

Then I got drunk.

And then came the wings. I don’t even like chicken wings! As a food snob, I am seriously turned off of any kind of food that needs to be slathered in sugary sauce just to taste good. But again, I let a bunch of people who don’t really care about me, my goals, or my well being, pressure me into doing something I didn’t like.

I came home and was really upset – I bitched at D for a good hour about how mad I was at this friend and then I realized… It’s me I should be mad at. Yes, she is being incredibly inconsiderate and selfish in trying to force me into her crap lifestyle. Yes, she obviously doesn’t care about things that are important to me (I don’t see her waking up at 6am to come work out with me!) but at the end of the day, I’m an adult and no one can force me to do anything I don’t want to. I made the decision to please the crowd and now I’m the one who feels like crap for it.

I’m upset with her for not being very understanding but I’m even angrier with myself for allowing my iron will to fold for a friendship. So long rant coming to an end, I promised myself this morning that I will never let this happen again. I don’t care if the Queen wants me to eat a gallon of ice cream (ew). Also: if you’re the kind of person that guilts your friends into having “just one bite” or telling them to “loosen up and eat like a normal person” I have two words for you:

Up. Yours.

You have no idea just how much dedication, will power, and motivation it takes to change your diet and make yourself a healthier person. By ragging on your friends and trying to bring them to your level, you are acting like a supreme asshole.

Anyway, all that aside let’s turn over a new leaf with a tasty recipe shall we?

I’ve always been kind of meh about tuna salad. It’s such a boring sandwich staple (IMO) I guess that I always dismissed it. Today’s tuna salad doesn’t have a bland bone in it’s… bowl?

I messed around with the olive oil mayo and came up with something really creamy with a tangy kick – thanks to some yummy balsamic vinegar. I love the result – I’ll probably use the rest as a salad dressing. Or dip some veggies in it. Or my fingers. Whatever is handy.

How cute is this little guy? I love lettuce wraps. Thanks to Subway, for the longest time I hated lettuce because theirs is limp and wet pulp. But a fresh head? Crunchy, almost sweet! Makes a great, low-carb option for people who like to enjoy their foods nestled in a crispy shell.

All snuggled up, waiting for my tummy. So much more fun to eat too!

Ingredients – Tuna Salad

  • 2 cans tuna, drained
  • 1 medium apple, cored and diced
  • 3T diced red onion
  • 3T balsamic paleo mayo (scroll down for recipe)
  • 2T crushed pecan peices
  • 1/4 cup fresh parsley (a small bunch or whatever suits your tastes really)
  • Lettuce leaves for wraps (alternately, you can easily make this a salad topper and eat with spinach)
  1. Throw everything in a bowl and mix!
  2. Wrap with lettuce and devour

Ingredients – Balsamic Paleo Mayo

  • 3T plain paleo mayo
  • 1/2t mustard powder (optional)
  • 1T balsamic vinegar (start with less and adjust to taste)
  1. Mix it all up and lick the bowl clean!

To wrap it all up (haha see what I did there?) I want to take a minute to talk about changing your diet. If this is something you want or even need to do in order to better yourself, I want you to realize that at the end of the day if your friends are not willing to support you and go out of their way to antagonize you, perhaps you need to have a chat with them about your friendship. I think this is a talk my friend and I will be having in the near future. Also remember: absolutely no one can force you to do anything you truly do not want to if you just flat out refuse!

Now go enjoy your wraps!

