Folks I have some fantastic new recipes lined up for the next few days! Be excited.

I’ve been meaning to make scotch eggs for sometime now. I’ve found myself on an egg kick lately – they’re such a convenient food: quick, easy, packed full of all kinds of nutritious goodness. I’ve never met an egg I didn’t like I always say! For the longest time I felt that hard boiled eggs were an old lady food. Don’t ask me why – I don’t know. That is until I discovered the joy of deviled eggs! (Recipe to come soon :P)

Traditionally, scotch eggs are wrapped in sausage meat and deep fried. I had ground beef and no deep fryer… so I baked em.

Result?

Delicious!

I just want to wrap one up in a blanket and snuggle it. Is that weird? Maybe. But they sure are tasty. Especially with some garlic mayo!

The great thing about this recipe is that when you bake the beef, the fat all just melts off. Let’s recap: Fat is nothing to be afraid of! Even saturated fats! But when you don’t have access to grass-fed, organic beef heavy metals and other toxins find their way into the animal’s body and collect in their fat cells. Much like in humans.

Ingredients:

  • 2lbs ground beef
  • 1 T ground cumin
  • 1 1/2 T chili powder
  • 8 hard boiled eggs
  1. Preheat oven to 375F
  2. Throw all the ground beef in a bowl and add spices. Mix it up really well!
  3. Divide the ground beef into 8 equal parts. Now comes the fun part.
  4. Take your peeled eggs and wrap them up in the meat. This can be a bit tricky but I find if you flatten the meat into a pancake shape and then roll the egg up, you can massage the rest of it in place.
  5. Bake for 25-30 minutes.
  6. You can additionally increase the temperature to 400F and crisp them for another 5 if you wish.

Enjoy!

I ate these with the mayo and some avocado slices. Yum yum in my tum.

 

 

