Fun fact about Baba Ghanoush – apparently (according to wikipedia anyway) in Arabic the term means “father of coquetry” which suggests that it may have been invented by a member of a harem. Who knows how true that is but I did always wonder why the strange name…

Anyway, I was at the farmer’s market last weekend and I bought some there which was simply delicious. I wanted to try and make my own at home, I love Baba Ghanoush so much that when I run out of veggies to dip in it I use my fingers. Anyone else guilty of this?

I’ve never tried to cook eggplant in the oven – I’m using the grill for my last three days here to cook EVERYTHING. If you have access to one I highly recommend you grill the eggplant as it adds a really nice, smokey flavor to the dip.

It’s also a great vehicle for getting a ton of yummy veggies in your tummy.

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggplants
  • 1/4 cup tahini
  • 1/2 t cumin
  • 1/8 t chili powder
  • 3 T lemon juice (or more!)
  • 1 t salt
  • 1 heaping t minced garlic (or more!)
  • 1 1/2 T olive oil
  1. Cut the eggplant in half lengthwise. Score the halves a few times in the flesh with a knife.
  2. I like to rub a little olive oil and salt on the bared halves before I throw them on the grill.
  3. Grill for 5 minutes face down then 8 minutes face up. The flesh should be soft to poke at and the skin should be blackened.
  4. Scoop out the flesh and add all ingredients to a food processor and blend!
  5. If you don’t have a grill you can always bake in the oven at 450F for about an hour.
  6. Use as a dip for veggies, olives, chicken breast (now there’s an idea!) or as a spread!
