What a crazy week it’s been. After four (long. very long.) months of living with my parents – me and D finally headed back home yesterday morning. I can’t believe how much stuff we managed to collect in our little basement suite over the summer but unpacking was  no amounts of fun. None of the fun if you will. When we got into the city I felt like I was going to wake up and have to go back to my horrid job again. Ahh but it’s all over now… on to my crazy busy semester of school! Eep!

I’ll worry about that when I get there… I packed up a hefty amount of left overs so we wouldn’t be panicked for food (so that wouldn’t be panicked for food. Let’s face it, D can eat anything anywhere and I have much more annoying food specifications). On Wednesday we get our first order of local, organic veggies! I am ridiculous amounts of excited at the prospect of this. RIDICULOUS. We also stopped by the farmer’s market on Saturday and picked up a sac (literally. It was on sale!) of assorted cuts of pork. There’s going to be a looooot of slow cooker ribs in this house once leftovers are all done! I also brought with me a handful of avocados (mmm my favorite non-sweet fruit) that I had to use up quick so I thought I’d throw them in a salad.

The lighting in my condo is SO much better for taking pictures! I didn’t even really spend much time/make a decent attempt and already the pictures I took are way better than the ones in the basement. So excited! It also helps that my camera here doesn’t suck. Anyway – the condo is a mess and this was just a quick deal so the pictures are pretty simple but I just wanted to share this salad cause it was phenomenal!

Super simple, super easy, super quick.

Ingredients:

  • Bowl full of mixed greens
  • Shredded chicken breast or thigh (omit for a still yummy veggie salad)
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 2-3 T roasted pumpkin seeds
  • 1-2 T Paleo Garlic & Dill Mayo + 1/2t lime juice

Of course, I had to add extra garlic to the mayo – feel free to do so also! A note about the roasted pumpkin seeds – you can use raw if you like but here is what really makes the salad shine – chili lime roasted seeds. I bought them at the farmer’s market the last time I was visiting and they are PHENOMENAL. I’ve probably eaten way more than I should have but I don’t care – they are amazing!

Here’s how you can make them at home. Roast 1 1/2 – 2 C of pumpkin seeds at 275F for 10 – 20 min stirring every 5 min and watching to make sure they don’t burn. Seasoning is simply a drizzle of melted ghee, 3 – 4T chili powder, 3-4 T lime juice, 1 1/2 t salt. Throw it all in a bowl and munch away 🙂

