I don’t know about you but this is revolutionary to me.

I first had this interesting salad at a restaurant – the first that I have ever been to where the salad comes without a dressing! – and my mind was blown. I don’t even like olives. This isn’t a “I used to hate olives until I tried this dish and now I love them” I seriously just do not like olives at all. Period. They’re way too strong for my taste! When we had gone out I was still on my last whole30 and so this was basically the only thing I could have on the menu, along with two poached eggs. I’m not even sure why I didn’t ask them to hold the olives but man am I glad I didn’t. For some reason that combination of green olives and apples (and maybe I’m seriously just nuts here and all alone on this one) was just fantastic! I even got D to try it and he agreed – the result was pleasantly surprising and completely different from what you’d expect.

 

In case you were wondering, why yes – I did go out and buy a jar of olives just to make this salad. It’s that good.

 

The only way that I can describe it is that olives + apples is not = to oliveapple. It’s a taste all it’s own I swear!

 

Ingredients

  • Handful of salad greens – I like spinach with apples
  • 1/2 an apple
  • 1/2 an avocado
  • handful of green olives
  • sprinkle of slivered almonds
  • Feel free to add: diced onions, chicken breast, shrimp etc.
  • Drizzle of Sweet Apple Dressing
  1. Slice, Dice and Mix!

Ingredients for Sweet Apple Dressing

  • 1/4 cup paleo mayo
  • 3 t unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1/2 garlic clove
  • 2 1/2 t apple cider vinegar
  • just less than 1 t ground mustard
  1. Mix and enjoy!

