To start: I love bacon. Can we all agree on its tasty goodness?

For whole30ers bacon is a mystical thing. Technically it’s allowed. Oh sure – if you can find nitrite, sugar, preservative and god-knows-what-other-crap free bacon – it’s allowed. But it IS allowed! Well my little duckies, after a week of checking with my main meat supplier (all they had was maple bacon! GRAH!) I randomly spotted some at Planet Organic yesterday. I think I might have just drooled for a full minute before stuffing a pack in my greedy hand and high tailing it for the till.

You Know. In case someone tried to fight me for it or something… Ahh the smell of sizzling bacon. Is there anything nicer? Free Money? Back massages? They’re all up there. Anyway much to my annoyance, I had planned to make this broccoli, bacon and grape salad all week. But our grapes ran out by the time I found the bacon so there went that…

Instead, I give you:

Broccoli, bacon and raisins.

Love the flavors mixed together! Salty bacon, sweet raisins, creamy dressing… mmm. And let’s not forget, broccoli is a cruciferous vegetable which mean that it contains a kind of phytochemical that stimulates the breakdown of potential carcinogens. AND from what I’ve read, this cancer fighting property of broccoli is lost somewhat when we cook the little guys. So – bacon and cancer fighting all in one raw little bowl. Win – win.

An aside: I decided to give my blog a facelift! I wasn’t digging the old theme anymore… this one is so much nicer. I like things to be clean and crisp. Just my two cents there 😛

Ingredients: for the dressing

  • 1/2 cup paleo mayo (plain)
  • 2-3t apple sauce
  • 2t apple cider vinegar
  • 1t mustard powder
  • 1/4 lemon juiced
  1. Mix!

Ingredients for salad:

  • 2-3 medium heads of broccoli cut into little florets
  • 1/4 onion diced fine
  • 1/4 cup raisins
  • 3 strips (use your intuition – mine were very large strips) bacon
  1. Cook your bacon so that it’s golden brown and crispy
  2. Meanwhile, in a large bowl combine dressing and onions. Mix well.
  3. Add broccoli and coat. When the bacon is done, chop it up fine and mix in with raisins.
  4. Know what would be nice here? A sprinkle of pumpkin seeds. Just a thought!
