I thought I’d alternate some of the bigger, more time-consuming meals I prepared last Saturday with some simple stuff. I will never look at parsnips the same again after making these – so easy but so incredibly tasty! It’s hard to believe that these are guilt free when you try them. They taste like little candy sticks! Parsnips are underrated in my kitchen – they have an almost apple like taste to them that I can’t quite put my finger on.

They’re fairly low calorie, a great source of dietary fiber, vitamin c, folate, manganese, and potassium. I like to look up the nutritional data for my veggies – I don’t know why I feel better about eating them I guess. Does anyone else out there do this?

On a whole30 related note: My sleep is amazing. I haven’t slept like this… ever. I’ve always been a terrible, restless sleeper and it’s all gone out the window! It’s crazy how the foods you put in your body can so dramatically change your physical being. I told D if I snacked on any nuts they’d have to go in the study – I’m a notorious nut muncher (HA HA. I know what I just said :P) and so far nothing. It was hard at first but I’ve just changed my eating habits so much – I’m so proud of myself! I barely eat any fruit at all – although my diet was fairly clean before I started the whole 30. Back to the fries:

Ingredients:

  • 2-3 Parsnips – all depends on size
  • 1-2T oil of choice – I would avoid olive
  • 1-2T apple cider vinegar
  • 1t dried rosemary
  1. Preheat your oven to 400F
  2. Chop up the parsnips into little tasty fries
  3. Toss with oil, vinegar and rosemary. Bake for 30-50 minutes. I like mine really crispy so I went with 50. Try dipping them in this dressing!
