I’m not exactly sure where I found this recipe… I have a notebook full of crumpled pieces of paper, post its, random thoughts and recipes scribbled all over the place. I’m fairly sure it was from Nomnompaleo (Even if it wasn’t go check out the site! Great resource!)

Either way, I’m a fan of the product. Super simple, low maintenance cooking with a great way to use up those parsnips. (If somehow you are magically sick of the most amazing parsnip fries ever!)

 

Nothing too fancy to look at but if you’re like me and you do all your cooking for the week ahead of time – this puree is really awesome because during the week it serves as a really convenient way to get some veggies in you quick snap. And if you want something really nice and creamy – I’d sub half a cup of the chicken stock for some coconut milk (full fat of course!)

 

Kind of looks like baby food – lol! Well I suppose it could be used to feed babies actually as the ingredients are clean. I just wanted to show you a picture of it all just for texture I suppose. Here’s a better one:

 

Kind of blurry but – meh. You get the idea. So there you go. Tastes great mixed up with your protein of choice (I’m a food masher. I like everything in one gooey pile… you should see me at Christmas!)

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 lb parsnips, peeled and coarsely chopped
  • 1 pound carrots, peeled and coarsely chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1/2 onion, coarsely chopped
  • 3/4 cup organic chicken stock
  • 2 tablespoons clarified butter
  • salt
  • Freshly ground pepper
  1. Chop up all your veggies.
  2. Heat up the butter in a saucepan over medium heat. Add the onions and garlic first.
  3. Cook for 5 minutes until fragrant and onions are translucent
  4. Dump in veggies, and broth. Bring to boil then lower to a simmer.
  5. Cover and cook for 25-30 minutes. (Veggies should stab easily with a fork)
  6. Transfer everything (including juices) to a food processor and blend!
  7. You can choose to add more butter, S&P for flavor when you’re done.
