Mushrooms are one of those foods that people either love or hate. When I was younger I think a sibling tried to gross me out by telling me they grew in poop or something so I avoided them for a long time… Until I realized that really – everything grows in poop. Hows that for an appetizing intro to a recipe? As an adult I really do adore mushrooms. They add such a nice earthy depth to soups and stews. The thing I love about mushroom soup is that it’s great on its own but it can also serve as a sauce for all kinds of recipes.

 

Although soup on its own is great too – it’s like a warm hug in a bowl! Last weekend at the farmer’s market we picked up some lovely dried Chanterelle mushrooms.

 

I’ve never actually worked with dried mushrooms before but I sure am glad we bought them. You can really taste a difference between the fresh Crimini and these Chanterelles. Usually when working with dried mushrooms you’re supposed to rinse them with boiling water and save the water for the stock. I opted out of this step and chose to let my soup simmer for a little longer.

 

Left overs were put to good use with some pork chops! Mmm

 

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb Crimini mushrooms, stems removed and chopped fine
  • 25g dried Chanterelle mushrooms
  • 2T clarified butter/ghee/cooking fat of choice
  • 2 small onions chopped fine
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • handful of fresh thyme leaves (or 1T dried)
  • 3/4 cup coconut milk
  • 1/4 cup chicken stock
  • 2 green onions chopped
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  1. Rinse and pat dry the Crimini mushrooms
  2. Heat a large skillet over medium heat. Melt the butter and add onion and garlic.
  3. Cook for about 5-10 minutes until brown and fragrant.
  4. Add in all mushrooms and fry for another few minutes until the Criminis begin to soften.
  5. Add coconut milk, and chicken stock. Let the soup simmer for a few minutes.
  6. Add the green onions and thyme and let the soup simmer on low for about 30 – 45 minutes  to let the flavor from the Chanterelles develop.
  7. Let the soup thicken and serve. Like I said before, you can have this as a standalone meal or get creative and use the soup as a creamy sauce for pork chops, chicken or casseroles. I had a mushroom and sage flavored EVOO that I drizzled in and it was simply heavenly!
