A while back I was frolicking through my local organic market when what should catch my foodie eye? Sheets of Nori! I have always been a huge fan of sushi. Forget sushi, I’m a seaweed fiend! I never realized that it was one of those things that a lot of people hate. I mean… it’s seaweed! It’s so tasty! … To me I guess. D isn’t a huge fan but he liked the stuff inside the rolls so he eats them 😛 Me? I could probably use it as a cracker for some guacamole. Ohhh that is a good idear…

Anyways I didn’t really do anything crazy for the filling – just a basic tuna salad that I make all the time with some mayo and dill. OH BUT WAIT – SUN-DRIED TOMATOES? I know, I really should do something different for a change and get off the tomato train but honestly I just can’t get enough of them. Look how cute!

Anyway, leave the avocado out of the recipe because you’ll need it to smear on the Nori to act as a glue. I have to admit, I had a really rough time cutting these up into  nice, even, individual pieces. The rolling wasn’t really the hard part, but I got so fed up with my sushi falling apart on me that I ended up taking what was left of the roll to school and eating it like a wrap! Lol! Nothing wrong with that!

I found that eventually with some practice it got a teeny bit easier but there has GOT to be a better way. Anyone have any tips? A special knife that you use perhaps?

An ancient sushi chant maybe? Do let me know!

Ingredients: (Makes 2 sushi rolls)

  • 1 can drained skip jack tuna (feel free to use salmon or any other fish you like)
  • 2T garlic and dill paleo mayo
  • 1/2 an avocado
  • 8 sun-dried tomatoes, diced and soaked in olive oil
  • 8 raw matchstick sized slices jicama  (sub carrots, apples, radishes… get creative!)
  • 2 sheets Nori
  • Coconut aminos for dipping
  • cilantro for topping
  1. First make the tuna salad. It’s as easy as dumping a can of tuna in a bowl with the mayo. Annnnnd mix! Don’t forget to add your sun-dried tomatoes.
  2. Now that you have the salad, you want to prepare your sushi roll. I do not own a sushi mat. I never will own a sushi mat because a) I am poor and b) I’ve now made 4 rolls without it just fine. First, mash up your avocado in a separate bowl. Spoon half of it onto your Nori and spread it around, leaving 1/2” on the side closest to you. Make sure you spread it allll the way to the other end! It’s going to act kind of like a glue.
  3. Spoon the tuna right at the border of your avocado-less 1/2 inch. Line the other side of the tuna (facing away from you) with a couple sticks jicama. In case I make absolutely no sense whatsoever, I took a picture 😀 Now keep in mind this was my very first try so I hadn’t quite figured out the trick with mashing the avocado. Also my jicama sticks were WAY too big. Finally, My pile of tuna was monstrous! Don’t make the same mistakes as the protein queen 🙂

4. From the side closest to you… roll! I really don’t know how to break that down any further – trust me it’s not that hard. And you know what? If you completely screw up, who cares! Throw it all in a bowl and have yourself a nice salad! It’ll still be tasty I promise. I actually considered trying this recipe out as a salad… Perhaps in the future.

And now for something completely different…

A couple of days ago I was contacted by a website called Slimkicker. I don’t know how many of you use external apps/devices like fitbits or calorie trackers but I guess they’re going to be releasing a fitbit type device next year and want me to check it out! I’m really excited because I’ve never bothered to use anything of the sort and it might be interesting to see some numbers. I guess their deal on the site is that you track your exercise and “level up” as rewards for certain amounts of exercise. The gamer side of me likes this. I think there might be real life prizes as well? What do you think, would you implement something like this in your health regimen? ALSO tips on sushi cutting would be greatly appreciated 😀

