Now I know what you’re thinking. Chicken hearts?!?! Ewwww!

I’ve been reading a lot about organ meats lately and they are really good for you! (Providing that they come from a happy, healthy animal!) Live a little and try something new ūüėõ Thanks to the “yuck factor” organ meats are also ridiculously cheap per pound. For those of you trying to eat organic, grass-fed/pastured, and hormone free, meat costs can really rack up. I tried chicken hearts for the first time and they’re a littttle bit chewy but I really liked that about them. They kind of tasted like… sausage? I’ve also never been afraid to try weird foods. I’ve been eating liver, kidneys, bone marrow and all kinds of other “gross” foods since I was a kid ūüėÄ

Not TOO bad looks wise right? The grapes and onions added a really nice tang to the dish. We got these amazzzzing coronation grapes in our veggie box this week and they were perfect with the hearts. They’re really juicy and burst in your mouth when eaten raw so they almost tasted like blueberries when they were deglazed with some apple cider vinegar!

 

As an added source of veggies we had this broccoli salad which just didn’t look good on the plate :). Can we talk about the radishes for a second?

Simply divine. I worry sometimes that my tastes have been altered after eating so clean for so long and that no one else will like my food… but D (to be fair a huge chunk of what he eats is what I cook him – but he still eats all kinds of junk!) loved them as well. Took me all of 5 minutes to fry them up in some ghee and balsamic vinegar! Definitely¬†recommend¬†you try it the next time you get some radishes.

 

Ingredients:

  • 1lb chicken hearts, rinsed and patted dry (You can sub breast if you’re squeamish :P)
  • 3/4 cup grapes
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1T dried rosemary
  • 1/4 cup + 4T apple cider vinegar
  • 2T cooking fat of choice (I used duck fat. Can’t go wrong there!)
  1. Fry up the onions with the rosemary till they’re nice and brown and fragrant.
  2. Add the grapes and 1T of apple cider vinegar, fry for another couple minutes.
  3. Add chicken hearts. You want them to reach a nice brown color – I even covered the pan for a few minutes to get them to cook faster. You want to keep checking and stir them around to make sure they don’t burn. Once they’re cooked, take them out of the pan and set aside. You can take out half the onions too (I like to leave a little behind to¬†caramelize¬†and add flavor to the sauce)
  4. Deglaze with the apple cider vinegar. You want a nice thick sauce remaining.
  5. Add the hearts back in for a few minutes. Done!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup radishes, halved
  • 1T balsamic vinegar
  • 1T ghee
  • 1/2t rosemary
  1. Melt the ghee in a hot pan. Add the radishes and let them soften for a minute.
  2. Add rosemary and balsamic vinegar. Cook to preferred doneness. I like mine really soft so I covered and let them cook for 5 minutes.
  3. These are fantastic with the apple cider vinegar Рgrape sauce combo. Hope you like em!

 

 

