Too busy to cook this week? Make a frittata! If ever there was a food that is both delicious and quick, it’s the frittata. They’re a lot like stir-fries in that you can throw in whatever you feel like/have on hand and come out with something delicious. This week, I had ground Turkey, Kale, and some delicccious Fire Roasted Red Peppers. 

Did I also mention that I’m now in love with skillets? I had this old guy kicking around our condo somewhere and I’m not sure why I never used it… But I know that those of you who are regular skillet enthusiasts swear by them. And I see why! So I may have splurged and bought a couple more online… Online shopping will be the end of me. Back to the food:

Frittatas are also a great way to sneak in some veggies that you wouldn’t normally eat with your eggs. Kale is one of those leafy greens that I try to eat lots because I know it’s good for me but honestly – I’m not a huge fan unless it’s creamed or in chip form. And thanks to the popularity of kale chips I have a really hard time finding other kale recipes online… Share yours!

But for now, I have a week’s worth of frittata with kale hiding inside, masked by the egg and turkey’s delicious goodness. And let’s talk about fire roasted red peppers for a second – smokey, sweet PHENOMENAL! I felt it was unfair for me to use sun-dried tomatoes AGAIN, so I now have a new favorite cooking addition 😀

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb ground Turkey (or meat of choice)
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1/2 cup chopped kale
  • 1/4 cup fire roasted red peppers
  • 6-7 eggs, beaten
  • 2 T cooking fat
  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • 1t dried oregano
  1. Preheat oven to 350F
  2. Heat up your skillet and melt the fat. Make sure it’s nice and hot!
  3. Add garlic and fry everything up for 7-10 minutes, the onions should be brown.
  4. Add the kale and fry until wilted.
  5. Add the turkey and oregano and brown the meat. Things should be smelling migggghty good in your kitchen at this point!
  6. Throw in the peppers and mix everything around.
  7. Now, pour in your beaten eggs and let the bottom of the frittata cook for 1-2 minutes. You just want the eggs in the skillet long enough to set and just barely cook.
  8. Pop into the oven for 10-15 minutes (make sure your skillet is oven safe!)
  9. Slice and serve! These are great for making ahead of time and popping in the fridge. These can be made with whatever meats, veggies, left-overs you have kicking around etc. very versatile!

