So I guess I should have introduced the main components of our meal before the pumpkin pie…  But I was just so excited at how good it was 😀 My next favorite dish? Definitely the stuffing. I have ALWAYS been a stuffing fan. Mainly because I used to be allll up ons the carbs. So I was really sad when I saw on the whole9 website the recipe suggestion to use meat instead of bread… I mean stuffing is all about the bread! The bread people! Well I tried the meat stuffing and I’m extremely happy to say that even a bread lover like me could forget that crap with this amazing dish.

It’s savory, sweet, nutty and all the other words for good in the English language. I actually cooked the lamb a little then stuffed it in the Turkey for the last 45 minutes of cooking. Because everyone knows stuffing from inside the Turkey tastes way better! I used a can full of ghee for the first three hours to make the Turkey nice and juicy … but that’s another story for another post. It did, however serve to make the stuffing reaaaaally juicy and flavorful. Thanks ghee!

The good news is – you can just as easily make this stuffing as a non holiday feast meal!

Ingredients:

  • 1lb ground lamb or beef
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 T coconut oil or cooking fat of choice
  • 10-15 figs, chopped
  • 3 T hazelnuts chopped
  • 1 T sage
  • 1/2 t nutmeg
  1. Melt the fat in a large skillet over medium high
  2. Add onions and garlic and saute until brown and fragrant
  3. Add the meat, crumble it and let it brown.
  4. Add figs, hazelnuts, sage and nutmeg. If you’re making a Turkey, you can stuff it for the last 45 minutes of cooking time. If not, cook for another couple minutes and then eat right away!
