It’s been a while since my last post – I’m so not impressed with myself! But I really have had such a crazy busy week that by the time I have an hour left in the night, I’m just too exhausted to do anything but lay there and watch t.v. (Walking Dead anyone? God I hate Lori.)

Soooo I splurged and bought a Vitamix. SO GLAD THAT I DID! I got the CIA professional model for about half the price (thanks ebay!) – it’s been about 2 days and I’m already in love with this machine. LOVE. Seeing as I’m so busy with school right now, I cook up all my proteins and make vegetable juices. So  uh… if I ever get my act together, look for those recipes coming “soon”.

I’ve still been cooking paleo (actually whole 30!) and it kills me when I don’t take pictures – but I get home so late now that I would be doing it in the awful unnatural lighting in my living room. Although I really have no excuse as I have a backlog of recipes photographed from Thanksgiving to post… Like this one!

It’s starting to get colder out side (at least where I live in Northern Canada anyway!) and I find myself craving soups more. The nice thing about this soup is that it’s pretty sweet but still quite healthy. I love butternut squash, it’s got such a great flavor when you roast it for such a great calorie count. (1 cup = 82 calories!)

Ingredients:

  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 butternut squash, peeled, seeded and roasted
  • 1 -2 apples (I’ll leave it up to you how sweet/appley you want the soup to be)
  • 3 cups chicken broth/veggie broth
  • 1 1/2 T ginger paste
  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 1-2 T cooking oil/fat of choice
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • pinch of nutmeg
  1. For those who are unsure – roast your squash at 350 for about 30 – 40 minutes till the skin peels away easily and the flesh is fork tender
  2. Heat the oil over medium high and add onions, garlic and a 1/2 T of the ginger paste.
  3. Cook until brown and fragrant. Then add the apples and let them soften a little. Add the squash and chicken broth to the pot. You’ll want to bring the soup to a boil, then reduce the heat, add the cinnamon and let it simmer covered for about 30 minutes.
  4. If you have an immersion blender, at this point it’s time to puree! If not, carefully transfer the soup in batches to a blender.
  5. If the soup is too thin, let it simmer uncovered to reduce it a bit. If not, dash with nutmeg and serve!

I’m toying with the idea of using coconut milk as a base rather than the broth and making this a creamy deal. Perhaps next time… give a try and let me know how it goes!

