Oh hey there, remember me? The avocado lady that used to blog once a day?

*Sigh* So I’m super busy with my student teaching – and the thing that kills me is that I’m still cooking just as much. I just have no time to take pictures (It’s dark when I get home!) or upload anything. This blog used to be my little escape and now I’m trying to escape the guilt I have for neglecting it! Ah well, such is life. You know what really cheers me up though?

This:

 

I found this amazing recipe for a flax meal bread – and I KNOW this is technically not whole 30 approved but really I don’t care. In any case, I’m not craving bread – I just wanted something to put (my new favorite!) tuna spread on and my god is it delicious.

 

I found this basic recipe for a flax meal focaccia and added sun dried tomatoes and green olives into the dough… Fantastic. Simply fantastic!

Let’s not forget about the reason I’ve eaten about 7 cans of Skipjack tuna this week:

 

I love meat spreads. (Ha – ha). Seriously, I’ve been going to town on a liver pate I made this week and in my opinion all poultry should come in a creamy spreadable form. Just like this tuna.

 

And yes, these pictures are taken on my bed and SO WHAT!? My kitchen table is covered with lesson/unit plans so you know what? The bed it is! Anyway, a word to the olive haters out there: GIRL IS YOU CRAZY?

But actually, the olives add such a nice strong flavor to this tuna – if you don’t like them either leave them out or skip this recipe. But really … give it a try! So incredibly tasty you’ll start a tuna addiction like yours truly and empty out the fish market.

Tuna Spread Ingredients:

  • 2 Cans Skipjack tuna (low in mercury!)
  • 1/4 small onion
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1/4 cup chopped sun dried tomatoes
  • 1/4 – 1/2 (depending on your tastes) cup pitted black olives
  • 1 t mayo
  • 1-2 large cloves garlic
  • handful of parsley
  1. Throw everything in a food processor and mix!
  2. Spread on foccacia, fingers, spoon straight into mouth … you get the drift 😀

Flax meal Focaccia: Ingredients

  • 2 cups ground flax meal
  • 2-3 egg whites
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 T garlic powder
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 cup sun dried tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup pitted black olives
  1. Preheat oven to 350F
  2. Add water, olive oil, garlic powder and eggs to flax meal. Mix well.
  3. In a separate bowl, whip egg whites till they for stiff peaks. Gently fold into mixture.
  4. In a lined baking tray, pour in mixture. Run a spatula (or your loving hands) over the mixture and flatten it to about 1-1.5 cms thick. I found that putting parchment paper over the whole thing and then pressing down with my hands helped.
  5. Sprinkle with additional garlic powder if desired and top with tomatoes and olives.
  6. Back for about 20 minutes and thank me later 🙂

 

 

