I can’t believe it’s been over two weeks since my last post! I’m really failing at keeping this blog going but alas, such is the joys of teaching. Not to worry, I’m done soon and I have been brain storming some kick ass recipes for ya’ll! (Think meat stuffed with meat. Mmm… Meat…)

Last night I just could not get to bed because I was so excited about all the things I want to make this week… I just hate living in Northern Alberta because by the time I get home from work it’s too dark to take any quality pictures! So here is my new promise to myself: I’m going to post at least every weekend. As much as it annoys me when my friends think I’m dramatizing how busy new teachers are (seriously. nothing but profanity fills my head when I hear this) I HAVE to find time to start blogging again!

So here’s one of my favorite things lately. And by favorite I mean I’m likely to be found at 2 am when I can’t sleep guiltily spooning it into my face:

 

I LOVE liver pate. It is simply phenomenal. My co workers make fun of me because I’m a young person that loves liver and honestly – if you haven’t tried it before and are afraid to because of the yuck factor – DO IT. Liver is cheap, nutritious and so incredibly tasty! I always say it has an almost nuttiness to it. This is the ultimate comfort paleo food by the way. Like spooning buttah straight into your mouth.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb chicken liver (I actually used beef liver in this recipe and it turned out just lovely!)
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 slices bacon, cooked and chopped
  • 1 large onion
  • 3/4 cup cooking fat (I used ghee and I’m pretty sure I used less than 1/2 a cup. Just so you folks know there are less decadent options!)
  • 4T fresh chopped parsely
  • 3T vinegar
  • sea salt, pepper, and freshly ground nutmeg to taste
  1. Heat a pan and add 5 or 6T of the cooking fat. Fry up the onions and garlic for about 8 minutes till nice and fragrant.
  2. Add the livers (I would chop them beforehand) to the pot and cook for about 7-10 more minutes with some more of the fat. When you’re using ghee – the aroma that ensues will drive you crazy!
  3. Add vinegar, salt, pepper, nutmeg, and parsley.
  4. Let everything cool, throw it in a food processor and add as much of the fat as you’d like to make your silky pate!
  5. Let it cool and harden and enjoy with some crackers!

Ingredients: Coconut Almond Crackers

I apologize in advance for those of you without a scale but I measured everything in this recipe for nutritional profile’s sake and unfortunately I didn’t write down a more traditional measuring format!

  • 1 egg
  • Almond flour – 92g
  • Coconut flour – 36g
  • Macadamia meal – 29g
  1. Throw everything into a bowl and mix!
  2. Sprinkle with favorite herbs (I used 1t garlic powder, 1t rosemary) and bake at 350F for 10 min.

Nutritional info:

Worked out to about 46 calories per a 10g cracker – the coconut flour makes it so incredibly tasty! These SHOULD be treated as a treat – unlike yours truly who devoured the whole batch in two days. Sigh.

