So it’s been a while…

You know some days I’ve even had the time to update but I’ve just felt embarrassed with my posting schedule (or lack thereof)… What kills me the most is that I’m still cooking really good food. Actually some days I’m so impressed with what I’ve cooked but it’s always after freakin dark so I can’t take a decent picture! So today’s post has been taken in unnatural light but it was SO good I just couldn’t help but share.

I’ve been making a lot of meat pizza’s lately.

  1. They’re quick and easy
  2. They make an awesome vehicle for shoving food in my mouth without having to resort to paleo tortillas
  3. Because… meat.
  4. I can usually get in most of my day’s protein in one GLORIOUS sitting.

So when I get back to my regular posting schedule (2 more weeks!!!) be prepared to see lots of meatza experiments. Today’s isn’t strictly paleo … because I love lamb and goat cheese. I don’t miss bread, sugar, cheddar, mozza any of that crap but goat cheese? Ohhhh my. I have no idea if it’s grass fed although it IS organic. And in any case, since I did my whole 30 I still hadn’t tested the waters with some dairy so I thought I’d give it a shot. For those of you who want none of this foolishness – sub apple sauce. Apple sauce and lamb? Not even a second place, just as good!

039

 

And yes. It is just as good as it looks. By the way this little specimen here is about 150g of lamb. The other day I made a meat pizza out of about a pound of beef.

042

 

And ate it. All. In one sitting. Topped with 2 eggs, avocados, and bacon. As well as some paleo bread (recipe to come soon!!! … er… someday)

040

 

For any of you Intermittent Fasters, these are GREAT for rest day meals. Also, if you’re on a diet and every last calorie counts – by the meat extra lean. Then drain the fat that collects in the pan and squeeze out the rest on some paper towels. Voila!

041

 

I brought in one of these suckers to work the other day topped with some bacon – let’s just say the staff already hate me because I’m younger, healthier and have more free time (which isn’t saying much). They also like to pick on me because I love to cook and they don’t have the time… well this didn’t do much to earn me their favor!

Now remember – those of you not on a calorie restrictive diet – FATS ARE YOUR FRIENDS! *As long as your lamb was organic and 100% grass fed. I really hope you try this recipe and enjoy it as much as I did i.e. a lot.

Ingredients:

  • 1 package ground lamb – doesn’t really matter how much as you decide how much you need to eat. Mine was about 250g
  • quarter of an onion
  • 2 cloves garlic minced
  • 1/4 cup grapes
  • 4T balsamic vinegar
  • 2T (more or less – you decide!) goat cheese – can sub with apple sauce
  • handful of pea shoots
  • hand full of fresh mint leaves
  1. Preheat oven to 350F
  2. Cut the grapes into halves or quarters and in a small sauce pan, add balsamic vinegar. Bring to a quick boil over medium high, cover and reduce. Let sit for a few minutes
  3. Don’t be shy – get your hands dirty! Mix onions, lamb, garlic, and mint leaves.
  4. Roll into a ball and do your best to squish into a patty shape.
  5. Bake for ~12 minutes in a skillet. What I usually do is (depending on if it’s a high fat or low fat day or what macros I have/still need to hit) take the patty out and drain the fat. I put it back in flipped over for another 3-4 minutes. When I take it out, I blot with lots of paper towel – warning! The more fat you remove the drier and less tasty the meat will be!
  6. Spread goat cheese/apple sauce and top with pea shoots. By now your grape reduction should be nice and thick – take the lid off and let it thicken up a bit.
  7. Top with grape sauce, bacon and whatever else floats your boat. (Raisins?)
  8. Take a picture and send it to your friends so that they can be jealous of your awesome meal 😀

 

