Mmm fudge…

So it’s Christmas time and you’re trying to stick with the paleo thing. You brave soul! There are a lot of paleo treats out there that you can indulge in but damn, your friends make it hard with all their turnovers and danishes and short breads… Also – in my city anywhere – it is damn near impossible to find some goddamn chocolate without soy or other junk in there! So I say: make your own!

This recipe can be altered to make more of a fudge or a chocolate bar consistency.

002

 

Now the pictures aren’t all that great because I froze my fudge for too long and made a chocolate and had to chip it out of the dish (usually I just stick a spoon in and go to town but the bowl is kind of a mess because of all the mixing and I wasn’t about to photograph THAT)

But I PROMISE you these are so worth making! And the best part is, you can customize them to whatever mood you’re in. I’ve been known to sprinkle goji berries and cashews, coconut flakes and hazelnuts etc.

006

 

The recipe is so simple, I feel weird even posting an ingredient list. Here’s what I do:

Start with about 2T coconut butter. *NOT the same thing as coconut oil* and microwave for about 30s. Add 1 teaspoon cocoa powder and mix. If it’s not quite melted enough or too hard to mix, I’ll add about 3-4T coconut milk (full fat please!) and mix until everything is nice and creamy and well incorporated. The ones in the picture got a 1/2 teaspoon of unsweetened coconut and were topped with some hazelnut butter. Delicious, easy and satisfying! I throw the whole dish in the freezer for about 5 minutes (or longer if you want hardened chocolate) and voila! Or if you want a warm chocolate pudding kind of deal, eat it right away (or use to ice this coconut flour chocolate pumpkin bread!)

