Lately I’ve been going crazy for chickpea-based things. I had a wicked craving for falafel yesterday (which I fulfilled and then followed with a falafel food baby nap). I had quite a bit of chickpeas left over and wasn’t really sure what to do with them… but then I remembered I’ve seen some great recipes floating around for spiced and baked chickpeas. photo 2

These remind me of snacks I used to have as a kid – a kind of Indian trail mix with fried chickpeas, puffed white rice and other assortments. Not very healthy but it hit the spot in a way chips never can.

photo 1

As far as these go, they’re simple to prepare, addictive but fairly healthy. Simply mix some spices together, throw them in a pan and bake.

photo 3

Ingredients:

  • 1 Can chickpeas, drained, and patted dry. (Actual amount can be less than this. If you mix your spice mix in a separate bowl you can eyeball how much your chickpeas need.)
  • 1t coconut sugar – I like this because it mimics brown sugar nicely
  • 1T Oil – I used macadamia nut. It’s what I had on hand.
  • 1/2t cumin
  • 1/2t ground chipotle chili powder. If you don’t have this use regular chili but maaan does this every bring the smoky flavor.
  • 1/2t paprika
  • 1/2t salt
  • 1/4t garlic powder
  • just a splash of apple cider vinegar
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mix well to coat.
  3. Bake in a greased or parchment lined baking sheet for about 35 minutes.

Make sure you keep an eye on them to avoid burning, they should be nice and crunchy. I’ve also made these at 350 degrees for the same time in the oven for a less crunchy texture which I find quite nice.